The Land of NeverWas

Where all the "Might Have Beens" live

I am

I am dirt roads leading home

And trails that lead astray

Hot asphalt ready to burn

And cool waters that comfort

I am books written of love and hate

The pages smell of decayed yesterdays

And freshly printed tomorrows

A library of nostalgic wistfulness and future hope

Volumes of dreams born and dreams shattered

I am a tumbled attic of chaos and clarity

Musty memories long stored away

Bits here, bits there, bits long forgotten

Treasures lost, treasures found, treasures yet to be discovered

I am muddy windows and locked doors

I am the shutter and the key

A home for those that wish to shelter within

A slab of impersonal bricks and concrete for those that pass by

I am cruelty

I am kindness

I am vengeance

I am sacrifice

I am the decisions made

I am the choices not taken

I am the past

I am the present

I am the future

I am all of this

And more

Yet to be discovered.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I am

  1. Beverly Jackson on said:

    I like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

