The Land of NeverWas

Where all the "Might Have Beens" live

some thoughts on parenting

Being a parent is hard: You have to be counselor, bank, judge, jury, advocate, friend, enemy, clown, advisor, transportation, biggest fan and too many other things to list. It’s a schizophrenic pursuit. But also something I would never trade for anything. I don’t know what sort of people my kids will be when they grow up, but I hope they will all be good people: kind and strong. And it will be hard for me to not blame myself if things go wrong for them, because I feel responsible for teaching them and guiding them and preparing them for life. I realize that ultimately they are their own selves regardless of what I do or say and a parent can only do so much, but I still struggle with the parts where I feel like I fail miserably and can only keep my fingers crossed that whatever screw ups I make will cause minimal damage. And in the end, no matter who judges my success or failure as a parent, that person can be no harder on me than I am. But, like all the good ones , and unlike all the bad ones, I have done my best, for better or worse.

I guess that is all I can expect of myself.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment